The 5 Love Languages



I’ve recently been reminded of  The 5 Love Languages, a great book that simplifies the actions that demonstrate love to others.  The book specifically addresses love relationships, however, this approach applies to all relationships. The jist is that there are 5 general behavioral categories.

They are:

Love Language #1: Words of Affirmation. There are some who feel loved by hearing encouraging words, kind words, humble words, etc. directed to themselves.

Love Language #2: Quality Time. There are some who feel loved when their partner invests in quality conversation, quality activities and focused attention on the other.

Love Language #3: Receiving Gifts. There are those who feel loved when their partner gives them gifts as visual symbols of love.

Love Language #4: Acts of Service. Some people feel loved when their partner shows their love through actions.

Love Language #5: Physical Touch. Some feel loved by their partners expressed through physical touch.

Often, each partner’s love language is different from the other.  Take the time to understand your partner’s love language, clearly articulate yours and watch how deeply you connect with each other.  Don’t waste your time expressing a love language that doesn’t meet your partner’s needs, find out what really makes them tick.

Pin It
2 responses to "The 5 Love Languages"
  1. Dave 05/03/2010 00:27 am Reply

    I’ve found that giving a gift in my spouse’s love language is worth like 2 or 3 times a gift in one of the other languages. It’s good to mix it up, but the real benefit comes in the primary love language. So, for my wife, roses are nice, but a compliment “fills her love tank” much more.

  2. catherinehilker 05/03/2010 07:16 am Reply

    I agree . When my spouse expresses my love language (a simple act like taking my car and getting it washed without me asking), I feel so loved I naturally express his love language back to him. It creates a lovely cycle of feeling supported and appreciated.

Leave your response